Skip to main content

Hey...I am rather new to selling on Ebay, but I figured it might be worth posting if it help someone else. I was just scammed by someone posing to be an international buyer would offered me a good amount of money to ship an item to Nigeria. He "purchased" the item and then sent me a fake PayPal message saying that the fund were there, but they were being held till I provided a tracking number. I called PayPal and they don't "hold funds". Hope this helps someone.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

quote:
Originally posted by ladydragracer:
If it isn't in your ebay box, then don't answer and forward the message to spoof@ebay.com

Certainly good advice, but I've read that scam/fake messages have also shown up in ebayer's message boxes. eBay's message system cannot be trusted to be 100% secure. Don't expect eBay to admit to this either. It stands to reason, if scammers can highjack eBay accounts with ease, they can certainly access the ebay message system, as well as your PayPal account. The scammers are everywhere. Roll Eyes
Last edited by ninthwave
You are all incorrect. What you all experienced here was Internet "Phishing". The supposed emails you received were definitely fake. But the weblinks those emails provided were also fake, redirecting you to fake eBay and/or Pay Pal websites. IF you logged into them your account info is then stored on a server of the fake websites and YOUR ACCOUNTS WILL BE HACKED.
I highly recommend, IF YOU CLICKED THOSE LINKS to log in, to change your email AND your passwords.

Unfortunate these idiot spammers are able to do this, but eBay and Pay Pal tell you to NEVER to trust an email. Yes, eBay and Pay Pal will and do send emails... but never trust a link provided in one. Log into your eBay account to check for any messages there, and log into Pay Pal to check your account. Do this the normal way by typing in www.eBay.com and www.paypal.com.