Skip to main content

I'm having HORRIBLE problems importing my Listing Descriptions - copying from Word and then pasting into the Auctiva Description Editor.

When I do, all of the fonts, fonts sizes, formatting, etc. is changed and it's almost impossible to clean up to look like the original created in Word.

I've been using & doing this successfully for more than 2 years and have just now started to have problems. I contacted Auctiva Support and they replied:

"When you create listings in Auctiva, our description editor functions properly with HTML code which uses it's formatting tools, not the code from sources outside of the editor. When you copy & paste from the internet or programs outside of Auctiva, you introduce 'Foreign' code into our editor, and it interprets where and what it 'thinks' it should do with that code. To resolve this issue with our new text editor we recommend manually inputting your description in the Auctiva editor and adding formatting after the description has been complete."

THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I cannot believe that anyone would be stupid enough to change or alter a successful and proven feature to something like this.

Has anyone else had this problem?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

We didn't 'change or alter a successful and proven feature'.

HTML editors in general cause problems when you copy from MS Word and paste it in to the HTML editor. The reason for this is that MS-Word generates non-displayed Microsoft specific formatting characters that conflict our HTML/text editor (or most anyone else's. Just try pasting text created in MS-Word into Google's Blogger text editor and see what happens. Hint: Google's editor gets confused by the Word control characters in a manner very really similar to what happens when you paste text created in MS-Word into our editor.)