Skip to main content

Hello-

I am just getting started with an ebay business. I have been doing tons of research and have used many of the tips on the auctiva message boards. -Thanks to all who post.

My issue is this:
I lost money on the first two auctions and I just listed 10 more items. I am starting out the bidding for less than what I put into the items and I have set no reserve so if it sells it
sells.

How do I get more bids? I think that may items are at a good value. I am looking for a price around $50-$60 an outfit. I have researched major discount chains and except for Walmart $50-$60 would be less than you could get an entire outfit for at Target, Old Navy, Forever 21, etc.

I am considering opening an ebay store so I can do Buy It Now but wasn't ready to invest the money until I found out if I have a viable business.

I am gettin somewhere around 80 hits per outfit for a 7 day period.

Here is my auctiva store so you can check it out.

www.outfitkit.com www.outfitkit.com

Thanks for any help.
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Thanks for the feedback.

The idea was trying to differentiate myself from other sellers. So far, I have not seen anyone auctioning complete outfits (it could be because it doesn't work!). I have gotten great feedback from people that love the outfit concept.

I offer the ability to choose alternate shoes if they are not in the right size as this was a limiting factor. I think possibly it got left off some of the listings and I need to go back through them.

So far, I have had a couple of people ask about alternative shoes but not one person has taken me up on the offer. I try to pick average sizes which are somewhere between a 7 1/2 to 9. I am assuming that covers a lot of buyers.

I could be completely off base on this.