Help  |  Community  |  Refer a Friend

 
 
 
 
 
 

Sign Up

  |  

About Us

  |  

Pricing
 

Bid at the last second, automatically.
Auctiva Website    Auctiva Community    Auctiva Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Everything Else    invalid token email?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Newbie
Posted
I received an email from Auctiva that says they have detected my token is invalid and it may interfere with listing....it has links on it which appear to take me to auctiva. I figured it was a phishing scam of some sort, but the links look like real links. I still did not use them and logged on here manually, and here it says my token is valid....and current through 2009....any ideas what this is?
 
Posts: 8 | Location: PA | Registered: July 14, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Elite
Picture of ChooChooGuy
Posted Hide Post
You treated it correctly by logging in to the Auctiva site directly without using any of the links on it. Smile

Same goes for any suspicious mails of this type.

However if it had any images within it that were from the actual senders site then the email reader tool would fetch those to display them and would confirm to the actual sender your email address is a live one so expect somewhat more in the near future.

Sounds like a standard phishing mail just like those I get allegedly from eBay or PayPal on a regular basis asking to confirm my details with threats of account closure etc if I don't, those I forward to spoof@ebay or spoof@paypal.

Certainly do not reply to it and add the sender to your junk mail list, you could paste it into a file support request not that Auctiva can probably do anything about it.

The real senders address will be disguised as Auctiva but the block will apply to the real sender.

Best not to auto-delete junk mail, they are not infallible Smile

edit - the junk mail filters that is
 
Posts: 1921 | Location: England, UK | Registered: June 13, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Elite
Picture of member_8880
Posted Hide Post
I would just delete the email and not worry about it. As long as Auctiva says your token is valid til 2009 your listings should be fine.
Just a FYI..NEVER click any links unless you're absolutely sure of the sender..I'm sure you know that already Smile


______________________
Earn money while you shop! It's FREE!

http://www.bigcrumbs.com/crumbs/landing.do?r=chicky8880&s=1741
 
Posts: 2505 | Location: ChiTown | Registered: September 24, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Elite
Picture of ChooChooGuy
Posted Hide Post
Hi Ms M typing together again Big Grin
 
Posts: 1921 | Location: England, UK | Registered: June 13, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Elite
Picture of member_8880
Posted Hide Post
Yeah..scary ain't it Eek


______________________
Earn money while you shop! It's FREE!

http://www.bigcrumbs.com/crumbs/landing.do?r=chicky8880&s=1741
 
Posts: 2505 | Location: ChiTown | Registered: September 24, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Ahhh, poked around at it. It takes you to an actual Activa page but then directs you to "sign-in" to eBay. It was that well done that it almost had me thinking, hmmmm, maybe I need to click this....
How irritating, i get enough of these through paypal and eBay, now auctiva...phishers....
I went ahead and changed passwords on everything, just in case. So be on the look out for very well done Auctiva phishing emails.

The eBay and Paypal are easy to spot, usually there are tons of grammar and spelling errors, but this one was good....
 
Posts: 8 | Location: PA | Registered: July 14, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Elite
Picture of ChooChooGuy
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Ahhh, poked around at it. It takes you to an actual Activa page but then directs you to "sign-in" to eBay. It was that well done that it almost had me thinking, hmmmm, maybe I need to click this....

Hi well clicking that far should put you high on the list for a deluge, was not a good idea I'm afraid. Frown
 
Posts: 1921 | Location: England, UK | Registered: June 13, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Elite
Picture of ChooChooGuy
Posted Hide Post
In fact I would suggest you now do a virus scan of your PC to check for nasties delivered from the sites pretending to be Auctiva or eBay.

I have found the best way to get a nasty is to do a web search for something select to go to it you get a dummy not found message and splat something nasty has arrived unannounced.

I now use AV tools which at least give me some warning about the health risk of going to any site.

Next time do not be curious it costs too much Roll Eyes
 
Posts: 1921 | Location: England, UK | Registered: June 13, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

Auctiva Website    Auctiva Community    Auctiva Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Everything Else    invalid token email?

Copyright © 1999-2008 Auctiva.com. All rights reserved.