Thanks Ed, I took your suggestion and tried a different web browser and viola! Sad that I am paying for a service that can not stay up to date and p.s. has horrible customer service and a lackadaisical security policy. (rant).
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .