Skip to main content

I am new to insurance on this site but have been using Auctiva for years. I have just filed a claim for some sunglasses that were lost in the mail FORTY FIVE days ago. It has been so long (because I HAD to wait this long to file a claim) and I'm sure the buyer is going to think I am some crazy person who wants them to attest to something on some form that probably isn't even in their language and that threatens to send them to prison if they lie! I can't even get people to write me back when I have a question about their address! Much less to fill out a form!
How do you guys handle this? If the person never fills it out- (never checks their email, can't read english, can't remember the transaction, isn't registered on eBay anymore) then we're just out of luck???
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hi ebaydenise,

Thanks for contributing to our forum. Hopefully most buyers would remember a purchase that was lost or damaged during shipping, but I certainly understand how that may be some circumstances such as those you have mentioned that could make it difficult (or impossible) to get the buyer claim form that is typically required for the processing of a claim.

Shipsurance, the company who underwrites the shipping insurance policies we offer, does have buyer claim forms available in several different languages so, if this particular buyer is located outside of the US, I recommend checking with Shipsurance to see if they have a form in the buyer's native language.

If the buyer does not respond to your requests to complete the required form, I also recommend contacting Shipsurance for advice on how to proceed from there using the contact information on the following page of their website:

http://www.shipsurance.com/support.asp

I hope this helps.

-Mike