Skip to main content

There are several threads regarding the slowness of the site. i am putting the request in the title so perhaps it will catch someone's attention. there are chronic and major problems impacting our work.

please pick any of the threads and post an answer as to whether anything is being done and why so many of us (esp in the US) are suffering.

itsjustme or is it?

Original Post
Another ACTIVE thread opened on this this morning. Now 5 and counting different threads on this I believe. NONE have responses from Auctiva. Sure makes me wonder how many are writing that have found the forums dead and quit checking them and being told it is isolated issue for just that person. Others may no longer send to support and just work through it because support sure is NOT what it use to be either.

Auctiva, I am not sure how you can continue to TOTALLY ignore this situation. Please give the courtesy of a note at least acknowledging that you see the posts. That maybe possibly you are working on it, that it is not going to be fixed. . something. Throw us a bone here! Other things we want we can survive without but speed on auctiva end is something we can't do work arounds for????

Hi Community,

I'm sorry to hear that you have been experiencing these difficulties lately. We have looked into a handful of reports of site slowness that were submitted through our support system, but we have not been able to determine the cause of the behavior nor attribute it to anything amiss on our side of things.

However, it is certainly possible that we will be able to uncover some additional details regarding the source of the problem once we have some additional details to work with, whether the problem lies on our side of things or with other areas of certain connection paths that are taken to get to our site.

If you are still experiencing this problem, please contact our customer support team by mousing over the "Help" tab within your account and choosing the "File Support Case" option.

When you contact us about this, it would be helpful if you can include the results of a trace route to our site as well as a description of what aspects of the site are slow. If you are using Windows, you can run a trace route via the following process:

1) Launch a Run command in Windows by selecting "Run" from the "Start" menu or by holding down the Windows key on your keyboard and pressing "R".
2) Enter "cmd" in the ensuing field and click "OK".
3) Then, in the black DOS window, type tracert and press the "Enter" key.
4) Once the results have been generated, you should be able to copy them by right clicking within the window and selecting "Select All", then doing a copy command by holding the CTRL key and pressing "C"

One the other hand, if you are using Mac OS, you should be able to run a trace route by doing the following:

1) Go to Applications -> Utilities -> Network Utility
2) Click the “Trace Route” tab
3) Enter and click “Trace”

Thanks in advance for any additional details that you are able to provide.

Trying to access my saved listings, this is the trace as requested; also filed Support Case:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert

Tracing route to []
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 7 ms 5 ms 5 ms []
2 7 ms 6 ms 7 ms []
3 6 ms 7 ms 8 ms
4 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms []
5 28 ms 26 ms 25 ms []
6 28 ms 27 ms 27 ms [154.54.12.
7 26 ms 27 ms 27 ms [154.54.41.
8 29 ms 27 ms 29 ms [154.54
9 30 ms 37 ms 35 ms [154.54.45.
10 31 ms 31 ms 30 ms [154.54.80.
11 32 ms 32 ms 32 ms []
12 32 ms 32 ms 35 ms []
13 32 ms 31 ms 31 ms []

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
ran another one and here are the results...beginning from when it hops on around cogent:
8 20 ms 22 ms 21 ms [154.54
9 21 ms 20 ms 21 ms [154.54
10 42 ms 43 ms 44 ms [66.28.
11 55 ms 55 ms 55 ms [154.54.45.
12 87 ms 88 ms 87 ms [154.54.45.
13 91 ms 91 ms 90 ms [
14 91 ms 91 ms 91 ms [154.54.80.
15 88 ms 89 ms 89 ms []
16 92 ms 91 ms 90 ms []
17 90 ms 91 ms 88 ms []

Trace complete.
Here is the one run late last night again only starting with the cogent hops:
8 32 ms 32 ms 33 ms [154.54
9 48 ms 49 ms 45 ms [154.54
10 58 ms 57 ms 58 ms [154.54.45.
11 83 ms 83 ms 81 ms [
12 83 ms 83 ms 85 ms [
13 84 ms 224 ms 198 ms [154.54.80.
14 83 ms 85 ms 83 ms []
15 84 ms 83 ms 85 ms []
16 83 ms 82 ms 84 ms []
Hi itsjustme,

I have forwarded the results you provided over to our IT team to aid their investigation, but we are actually not just interested in the results after the connection reaches Cogent. If you can run one more trace route and provide us with the complete results beginning with your ISP, that has the potential to be much more helpful.

We have received several other trace routes so once incomplete result should not hinder our ability to investigate the issue to much, but I figured I should mention this since you are interested in having your results included in the investigation.

I have given up even trying to list and this situation has been going on for over a week now. When I wrote to Auctiva they first of all responded with there is no known problems but when I pointed out that there are loads of messages in the community about this problem they wrote and said they were aware of the problem but did not know why. So I am unable to list because the programme is so slow that when I try to upload a listing I lose connectivity and Auctiva's response; just keep paying us and we'll let you know when it's fixed. I'm afraid that Auctiva is now on my Do Not Use list when I'm asked which is the best listing tool for eBay.
AMAZING, ignore it and it will go away!!

Auctiva, this is 6 active threads on this, so there is a problem. Something has changed here, perhaps in an update??? There are tooo many of us actually posting this on forums for it to be just one person.

This appears to be US and UK.

IF you are having issues please post it, do not just write support, put on forums please and please put what country you are in. Perhaps this is isolated to couple of areas.

Auctiva... ??????
My tracert from today. Site has been VERY slow for the last week or so...

Tracing route to []
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms 1 ms
2 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms []
3 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms [138.210.14
4 4 ms 2 ms 2 ms []

5 6 ms 30 ms 9 ms [206.5
6 28 ms 28 ms 28 ms [206.5
7 29 ms 27 ms 27 ms []
8 23 ms 21 ms 21 ms []
9 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms [154.54.12.
10 27 ms 25 ms 35 ms [154.54.41.
11 26 ms 26 ms 26 ms [66.28.
12 155 ms 204 ms 29 ms [154.54.80.
13 30 ms 29 ms 29 ms [154.54.80.
14 31 ms 30 ms 30 ms []
15 31 ms 30 ms 30 ms []
16 31 ms 30 ms 30 ms []

Trace complete.
Hi Mike. the initial hops were all under 10 ms. the long periods of latency (not sure that is the correct term) were all once they reached cogent. I am not sure if cogent is your access provider and or the access provider where your servers are located. Access and egress points are frequently where delays happen. It is expensive; bandwidth and higher grades of service cost more. Those are the areas with greatest contention when resources are tight.

all that said, it seems that those who published are showing higher ms consistently when hitting cogent. my results are similar.
Does anyone know if we need to do this more than once?

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\pc> tracert

Tracing route to []
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 2 ms 1 ms
2 9 ms 9 ms 7 ms
3 9 ms 10 ms 9 ms []
4 53 ms 10 ms 9 ms [
5 16 ms 13 ms 14 ms
6 15 ms 14 ms 15 ms []
7 15 ms 15 ms 16 ms [154.54.12.
8 31 ms 32 ms 34 ms [154.54
9 54 ms 43 ms 44 ms [154.54
10 128 ms 200 ms 199 ms [154.54.45.
11 83 ms 82 ms 82 ms [
12 85 ms 83 ms 82 ms [
13 82 ms 86 ms 84 ms [154.54.80.
14 87 ms 83 ms 84 ms []
15 85 ms 83 ms 82 ms []
16 86 ms 84 ms 84 ms []

Trace complete.


If there is someone out there who knows what this may mean.. please feel free to share your knowledge.

Last edited by lookandbuyme
Here is another one:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert

Tracing route to []
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 10 ms 8 ms 12 ms []
2 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms []
3 7 ms 8 ms 6 ms
4 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms []
5 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms []
6 104 ms 210 ms 208 ms [154.54.12.
7 27 ms 36 ms 26 ms [154.54.41.
8 28 ms 28 ms 27 ms [154.54
9 31 ms 32 ms 31 ms [154.54.45.
10 30 ms 32 ms 31 ms [154.54.80.
11 32 ms 31 ms 31 ms []
12 31 ms 32 ms 31 ms []
13 32 ms 34 ms 32 ms []

Trace complete.

Not sure what they mean but I do know that smaller "ms" is better and 208 & 210 is horrible.
and yet another run around noon eastern time

4 12 ms 10 ms 11 ms [
5 12 ms 11 ms 15 ms []

6 20 ms 20 ms 30 ms []
7 21 ms 21 ms 23 ms
8 559 ms 20 ms 22 ms [154.54
9 21 ms 20 ms 22 ms [154.54
10 45 ms 45 ms 43 ms [66.28.
11 56 ms 54 ms 57 ms [154.54.45.
12 91 ms 88 ms 88 ms [154.54.45.
13 91 ms 91 ms 91 ms [
14 93 ms 91 ms 91 ms [154.54.80.
15 89 ms 93 ms 91 ms []
16 93 ms 94 ms 93 ms []
17 93 ms 91 ms 89 ms []

Trace complete.
posted this just after having major issues getting to auctiva
a little help understanding what these tracerts mean:

+ The number on the far left is the hop number.
+ The next three numbers (with 'ms' after each one) is the length of time, in milliseconds, it takes for your computer to receive a response from the computer you are trying to contact.
A high value, for example greater than 50 ms for broadband (dial-up is no longer supported), indicates that traffic is slow, and can cause latency or 'laggy' play.
+ Asterisks (*) indicate that your computer did not receive a response from the computer you are trying to contact at all, which may keep you from reaching your destination. an alternate route or hop may prevent failure.
The final piece of information is the DNS (or 'name') and/or the IP number of server you are trying to contact on this hop. If you did not receive any responses from this server, you may receive an error message such as 'Request Timed Out' or 'Destination Host Unreachable'. (you can also get this anywhere on the route of one of the hops/highways needs repair.
Hi Community,

Thanks for continuing to keep us apprised of the problems you are seeing related to this thread. While we have still not been able to determine the root cause of whatever is causing some users to experience site slowness, we have received quite a few trace routes from users that are affected and we are still investigating the situation.

We appreciate everyone's willingness to contact us with the trace route information we have requested and we hope to be able to find out more about what is causing this problem in the near future.

In the mean time, if you are experiencing severe site slowness and you have not sent us your trace route information already, it would be great if you send those details to our customer support team by mousing over the "Help" tab and selecting the "File Support Case" option.

For what its worth, I stopped filing support requests years ago - they did no good. We all went through something like this a couple of years ago when the description box in the middle of the listing took well over a minute to load, while the rest of the page was there. Same excuses and fixes as for this problem and then one day it all worked properly. For me the time between clicking the save as new to getting a new listing screen is 40 seconds. This is slow to me as two other sites I sell stamps on, use their own online uploader and listings take 3-5 seconds to save and get new. I do use Opera as my browser and its only lately that Opera has worked with Auctiva. There used to be XML errors, and maybe when they fixed that issue, it caused another problem. If your listings are taking more than 40 seconds to save, maybe you should look at another browser. I'm using an ancient machine with only 256K of memory, but I suspect it would be no better on one of my other machines
Support has become a VERY PAINFUL experience!! Very Frustrating!! Last one I did sent examples and they totally veered off to a completely listing that was totally NOT identified in request? I get the vibes that it is outsourced and possible communication barrier. In one I asked for it to be sent to supervisor I believe 2 or 3 times finally like 12-15 emails later gave up!!

Sad part is forums have about dried up so can't get a lot of help there either. I have NUMEROUS and I mean NUMEROUS notes and requests totally ignored on forums that specifically ask auctiva question!! I notice on a couple of requests auctiva is responding (mostly newbies) some weeks after person wrote note requesting help. Maybe thought is they will just figure it out if we wait long enough to answer. Figure it out??? Give it UP? Let's flip a coin!!

Hate to be negative but also hate to see what was once a great respite from ebay hassles top ebay and they are about there lately.

Hopefully one day this will be fixed so we can get on with the business at hand.

Thanks for info. on Opera I have not tried it, but will sure do that.
Greg and lookandbuyme...I feel your pain. The support venue just doesn't work for me. Unless the request gets to Mike D., the answers are insulting. Mike will give an honest answer even if its one we don't like.

The last few responses have gone like this (with a bit of poetic license)..Sorry to hear of your troubles, but nobody else on Auctiva is having them so no doubt something is wrong with you or your computer. We suggest you close down your router and start it up again, clear the cache again, despite the fact that you told us you did that, and send more examples. Sincerely, Peggy.
I have no doubt there are many many users having this problem. They just got sick of it like I did and quit filing support requests or even posting to the forums.
Basically they just got use to it.
The only thing that ever worked for me was to turn the add-on's off. When I did this everything was super fast. Problem is you must have them on to upload pictures.
Also if I am listing on Ebay Motors it is much faster.
Clear the cathe has to be one of the most over used terms ever by any site
Ebayland you are right about this. It is obvious people have just said the heck with it. This is getting harder and harder to get use to, as this has been on forums for weeks and they finally throw us a bone after 7 threads are open on it. And of course, have we heard back from investigation. . NO. I have a feeling this is going to be another one of those, no response an eventually they will give up.

ITSJUSTME. . last support request I had I asked several times that it be moved up food chain (to supervisor) and was never done. Again, something different. When things got complicated they use to send to Mike, but not anymore. To me they may learn something by going up the food chain.

Perhaps there needs to be levels of support?

I did call internet provider INSISTING that I had a problem. They came out today, did their checking and said NO problem on their end, with modem or with my router. They then said, IF it was internet issue it would not be speedy on one site and soooo slow on another unless there was problem on other end, or way too much traffic on the other end so that other end can't handle the load.

They went on auctiva site as well as ebay and others and auctiva's continued to be much slower than any of the others.

Computer slow, NO, New computer so that can't be it either.

Auctiva, is the internet provider blowing smoke???? IF so WHY would they tell me this???

Also, what is auctiva progress on finding something on this??? This has NOT always been this way so something has happened somewhere along lots of paths. There are too many locations involved to just be all internet, router, cache issues.
Last edited by lookandbuyme
Audtiva was a great site - until they seriously partnered with ebay. Mention another auction site, and your post will usually get remmoved. I had that happen to me a couple of times
There was a serious problem a while back where the center of the listing sometimes took 2-3 minutes to load. Same story, clear the cache, your ISP is the problem, your router needs to be replaced, etc. I knew that I was dealing with offshore folks.It was at that point I switched to Turbo Lister. Don't get me wrong - its a piece of junk and a resource hog BUT once you get the quirks figured out, it isn't so bad. No templates to speak of, but I'll sacrifice that. You can do a work around with it though to get a template, but changing the images after downloading the listing from ebay to TL is time consuming, so I don't bother. Auctiva once had a offline lister called Mr Poster. This was terrific. It was discontinued and Auctiva has never been the same. The ONLY reason I continue to use this is that I reuse the same auctions every few months and it is very easy to do that. I could simply save them in TL once they end and accomplish the same thing, but that would mean changing all my image locations and some of my images have been in Auctiva for 5 years or more. Do try a different browser. IE is awful, and has long been banned in our household. Firefox and Chrome are marginally better, but Opera at least to me is the clear cut winner. I am thankful tat they got Auctiva to work with Opera, but they had to make coding changes for it to work. I still wonder if something broke when they did that. How long does it take you all to save a listing and begin to work on the next one?
Hi Ray,

Tried checking that and created and saved 3 dummy items. Took an average of 42 seconds between the submit and the create new item screen. Now I don't know if that is considered normal, but I CAN tell you that on two other sites the time between submits is about 5 seconds. If they can do it (and the one site is bigger than ebay as far as collectibles) than why can't Auctiva? Turbo Lister is a dog, especially the new version which luckily I have not downloaded. Probably the same programmers that Auctiva uses. Autiva loves to introduce new features. They should just get the old ones working properly. The only solution is to do other things while you are working in Auctiva because waiting for the item to save and a new screen to appear is agony.
Hi fellow frustrated users! I list on eBay au and am finding the same issues of slowness, especially downloading photos. It stalls many times and finally loses conectivity... It took me over 30 mins to list 3 auctions!!! This is appalling, and auctiva you'd better fix whatever the problem is as we will all be looking for a more reliable service...
If Auctiva has corrupted all of my saved listings by changing the description editor (which I am beginning to think they did)I will be looking to move away from here. It would be thousands and thousands of hours of work to fix them. I may have found one that does everything offline which are the best kind of listing tools and its free. I will probably check it out with a listing or two this week. If I have to do everything over again it isn't going to be here.
No, but here is a guess on my part - which probably wouldn't bother most users. The description editor just does not look right. I have listings that loaded fine last night, and look OK in ebay but when you go to the saved listing in Auctiva, the info is missing OR stranger still, is there but you cannot see it. Highlighting it with the mouse makes it visable. Switch to HTML, and it isn't there. My listings have a common save - at least for stamps. They have a description inside a table. Most of my non-stamp ones do not, and they look OK. My guess at this point is the descrition editor changed and it no longer allows tables. I've already begun to explore other third party software companies. I have found that Auctiva is rated around 2 stars, and many are better than that. I could almost consider redoing the listings in Auctiva,except as you know, a listing takes forever to create. I have a lot of old listings running LP's and such, that I have not checked. I'm guessing they are OK. What I need to figure out is how to export images from Auctiva so I would not have to reshoot everything.
Hi Community,

Thanks for continuing to keep us apprised of the behavior you are seeing. We have been collecting details from users who have been expericing slow performance on the Auctiva website and our IT team has been investigating those reports, but I'm afraid we have still not been able to determine why some users are experiencing these performance problems.

However, I will be sure to update this thread, as well as any support cases that have been filed to report such performance problems, if we are able to uncover anything that explains the behavior being discussed here.

greg--thought of something else...on a few of my listings i changed the font color because it wasn't working with the template. that caused problems upon problems so i changed the template.

i know that sounds ridiculous but it fixed the unreadable the description. Likely program updates precipitated the problem (as you suggested) and changing the templates takes extra time because its a popup screen and we all know how long those take on auctiva.
Auctiva, please let all of us know EXACTLY what the problem is with Greg's Listings. HOW we know if we have same issue, as I rarely go in and check each listing. How to make 100% sure this does not happen to our listings?

95% of the time I list directly onto auctiva. IF i cut/paste I do in notepad.

However, others may do differently. So this would be benefit to ALL to know this.
Last edited by lookandbuyme
I think that the explanation that I have in the post relating to my problem covers it. You will never get Auctiva to admit they made a coding change. You can be sure that if you ever cut and pasted anything, you may have a problem if you go for a relist. My descriptions were too complex to simply edit each listing, so I will reshoot the items and use a plain vanilla listing with a template. They discourage the use of HTML as far as fonts, which I also did (didn't like their choices) So my descriptions totally disappeared, and the other info that was cut and pasted had the font color change from black to white.There program testing is th pits, but compared to the problems that the folks who upgraded to Turbolister 3 are having this is a walk in the park. Those folks if you read the boards can't even list. I advise checking your listings. Auctiva says that the change was done so ebay wouldn't reject the listings (though I doubt that) These would have accepted - with no desciptions. I don't know if I ever would have been wise to this change had a listing of mine not rejected due to an email address.
Copyright © 1999-2018 All rights reserved.
Link copied to your clipboard.