Skip to main content

up until now, I've been selling stuff from around the house. I had mentioned in another topic that I was considering opening an ebay store. I've been reading several books on eBay and what to sell, where to get it, etc. so now I'm really confused.

one book says "think outside the box, don't sell what YOU love because there are a million other people selling that too" the next book says " follow your passion! sell what you love".
Then one book says "don't buy from wholesellers, you just become a middleman then.". Then the next book tells you to do exactly that...buy from real wholesalers. Next book mentions the "worldwidebrands" site. and so on and so forth. Now I'm in such a conundrum, I don't know WHAT to do!! LOL
please advise!
stace
hello! I'm a newbie!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Actually, the best advice that I have ever recieved in respects to that is to know what you sell or sell what you know.

It doesn't matter if there are lots of other sellers out there with the same item. It all comes down to customer service and marketing.

If you know your product well and can stand behind it 100%, then there should be no problems.
no matter what it is you decide to sell - it's all about making money!

BUY LOW - SELL HIGH

It don't matter what it is, where you get it - that rule applies!

I will sell anything if I know for sure I can sell it fast and for at least $10 more then I paid - that's about $8 after all fees.

REMEMBER you got to love what you do - which is why some say sell what you like or have a passion for - I don't, heck I knew nothing about what I sell before I started.
always remember, you make your money when you BUY your item. In other words, if you cant buy it cheap enough, youre not going to make any $.