Skip to main content

Hi. I'm very new at selling on e-bay. What I can't figure out is why an auction item very similar to mine, with the same price and quality, will have many bidders throughout the duration of the auction, while I seem to get snipers, and the prices do not get where they need to be? I can't sell at a loss, and people don't like reserves, so now I'm faced with a higher starting price, which doesn't encourage bidders either. I just can't risk starting off at 9.99 on an item that cost me $100, when I'm hoping to get $200. Do people do this? How do they know they won't lose all their money?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

That's a difficult question(s) to answer.

Some things to consider:

Timing - Most people will probably tell you that the best time to end an auction is on Sunday evenings. Generally, I find that to be the case for what I sell. Different products may do well to end at different times. It all depends on the target audience.

HOW you're selling something is just as important as WHAT you're selling. Just because a competitor has the same or similar product, doesn't mean that yours will automatically sell as well as his.

Some things to consider: He may have a well-established pool of repeat customers. How does his feedback/feedback score compare to yours? Is his shipping price lower than yours? Is his description written more professionally than yours? Do his pictures look better? Compare your terms-of-service to his: Are his written in a more "customer-friendly" tone? Are his terms more reasonable (from a customer's viewpoint)? Does he have a return policy? Do you? Try to look at your ads objectively compared to his. If you were a customer, would you rather buy from him, or from you, and WHY?