You do what you think is best for your peice of mind and for the service that you have set up for us. If it means taking a few baby steps then so be it. Personaly I can hardly wait for the move as it will mean more uptime and reliability.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .