I don't like the way the counter resets to zero; I too used to use it to keep track of how many listings I had done that day. Don't see the point of changing something that was functional and easy to use to this complicated mess.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .