Hi Suzanne - Their usual maintenence downtime is Thursday night from 10pm to 2am PDT, which would be Friday from 1am to 5am EDT. They usually post an alert message on the home page to notify of maintenence times, and the times do sometimes change.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .