I thought the same thing but I think those numbers are how many items the buyer has purchased from you? At least that's what it seemed like to me as I had a lot of new buyers with a O and then some of my repeats did have numbers.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .