Skip to main content

Reply to "Editor not working? Text size, fonts, positioning keeps changing!"

I am a designer, not a developer, so I can't fix it and make it function the way it seems like it ought to. But I can do some detective work to show what's going on and hopefully provide some clues that someone can find useful.

The short version:

I had success by using the "Paste as plain text" button.

(fig. 1)

Which brings up a popup for you to paste into, and hit ok. Centering text, changing the font, etc., all held fast after saving, leaving, and returning to the listing. (In case people have different results, for comparison sake this was in Firefox on my Mac.)

(fig. 2)

The long version, for those who want to know, "Why?"

First, a quick overview of how bodies of text are handled on the web. We're just going to touch on two HTML tags: paragraph tags and line break tags.

Paragraphs of text are supposed to be contained within paragraph tags, which look like this: <p>. Paragraph tags put vertical space between bodies of text. For example, the code:

<p>This is my first paragraph.</p>
<p>And here is my second.</p>

Will be displayed as:

This is my first paragraph

And here is my second.

To move text to a new line, but still remain within the current paragraph, line breaks <br /> are supposed to be used. So the code:

<p>This is my first paragraph.<br />
Now a second line in the same paragraph.</p>
<p>And here is my second.</p>

Will be displayed as:

This is my first paragraph
Now a second line in the same paragraph.

And here is my second.

So let's see how the description editor uses these tags when pasting with the regular method, NOT "Paste as plain text".

(fig. 3)