It's the links disappearing, Taz. When I was on Live Help with the guy that actually helped, he told me I should be seeing the links that I'm there and to get out. They're nowhere, not even white text on white.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .