They should update on the next refresh of the Scrolling Gallery (SG) and that seems to sync with Store updates. Normally, it's about every 4 hours. I believe the SG pic and the Store pic are one in the same.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .