If you haven't read this FAQ , doing so might be helpful to you as it describes what is supposed to be happening automatically and how long it takes. If you still are having a problem with the gallery, you should file a support case.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .