From the My Account menu, just click on the Account Home button near the bottom of the menu, which will bring up a new page. On this page there is an option on the right side to Cancel account - and you will need to verify your cancellation during that process to close out your account. Please keep in mind that this will not remove the scrolling gallery from any active listings where it shows, so if you have the gallery showing and wish to have it removed - please file a support case (from the Help menu) prior to closing your account and we can run a command to have it removed for you.
The site has been updated since the last post on this thread - so the menu is a bit different. However, to reach the option to cancel your account all you need do at this point is to click on the My Account tab itself (not the menu) and on the ensuing page is a link to cancel your account. Just click that link and follow the cancellation flow to close your account.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .