Skip to main content

Help! I am a Vintage Clothing seller. I use an HTML code for all my listings. I just change the pictures and text for each new item. Lately, my text has not been changing when I list on Ebay. My pictures change, but not the text! I have had to stop and re-list several auctions because of this problem. Am I doing something wrong?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Sorry for the confusion. I am new at this. I made my own HTML template through a HTML code writing service. I then pasted it into the Auctiva Item Details section. I saved it as one of my Master's and then reuse it. I change the details (description, size, etc.)and insert pictures as needed. This is where it it not saving my descriptions. It saves the original template information, but nothing new I have typed in.
Thanks again...I am at my wit's end!
OK....I think I understand the problem better.

If you have created a Master Profile with an Item Details profile that has "locked" the code for the description section, that explains why an update/add to the description is dropped, i.e. it's being overriden by the Item Details.

In order to get the code working, it would be better to create a real Template using Auctiva's tag system. In that method, the [DESCRIPTION] tag used in the template will then use any text or HTML added to the description box in the one-page lister and insert it at listing time (or preview).

I do an assist in the Forum called "Coffee Challenge" where I help a member create, revise, or convert an existing non-Auctiva template. If you like, I can work with you to "Auctiva-te" your template with Auctiva tags and get it fully functionial in their system.

If you can store the template by copy and paste to the practiceboard (my prior link), that's a start.

Danno
Hi Tina,